Its Valentine’s Day. What Does it Matter the cat’s on the Table… Have you Ever Heard of Mr. Clean?!!!!!!

How do you feel about St. Valentine’s Day?  For me it’s a nice time to actually spend with the one I love.  We don’t go crazy overboard.  We get each other gifts, we go for dinner, we tell each other we love each other…..  but we do that everyday anyway! 

After bringing up Valentine’s Day in a meeting I found out that my boss “DOESN’T DO THAT!”  My co-worker forwarded jewellery sites to her husband.

We are spending our fifth Valentine’s Day going to see a house.  I bought him a season of his fave show and a couple of Hotwheels for his collection.  We will do dinner at our fave place down in Stoney Creek.  Next year we WILL have our own space and we WILL cook dinner for each other.

That is my dream.

Do you even know where St. Valentine’s Day came from? 

Numerous early Christian martyrs were named Valentine.  The Valentines honored on February 14 are Valentine of Rome (Valentinus presb. m. Romae) and Valentine of Terni (Valentinus ep. Interamnensis m. Romae). Valentine of Rome was a priest in Rome who was martyred about AD 269 and was buried on the Via Flaminia.   His relics are at the Church of Saint Praxed in Rome, and at Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church in Dublin, Ireland.

Valentine of Terni became bishop of Interamna (modern Terni) about AD 197 and is said to have been martyred during the persecution under Emperor Aurelian. He is also buried on the Via Flaminia, but in a different location than Valentine of Rome. His relics are at the Basilica of Saint Valentine in Terni (Basilica di San Valentino).

The Catholic Encyclopedia also speaks of a third saint named Valentine who was mentioned in early martyrologies under date of February 14. He was martyred in Africa with a number of companions, but nothing more is known about him.

No romantic elements are present in the original early medieval biographies of either of these martyrs. By the time a Saint Valentine became linked to romance in the 14th century, distinctions between Valentine of Rome and Valentine of Terni were utterly lost.

In the 1969 revision of the Roman Catholic Calendar of Saints, the feastday of Saint Valentine on February 14 was removed from the General Roman Calendar and relegated to particular (local or even national) calendars for the following reason: “Though the memorial of Saint Valentine is ancient, it is left to particular calendars, since, apart from his name, nothing is known of Saint Valentine except that he was buried on the Via Flaminia on February 14.  “The feast day is still celebrated in Balzan (Malta) where relics of the saint are claimed to be found, and also throughout the world by Traditionalist Catholics who follow the older, pre-Second Vatican Council calendar.

Ok, well here is a subject that seems to be touchy.  Either you get it or you don’t….  PETS!  This pretty much sums up how I feel about my pets. 

I love my pets
This is their home 
From which I hope 
They’ll never roam. 
They’re faithful friends 
I love them best 
This is their home 
You are a guest. 
If pets to you 
Are just a peeve 
Then by all means 
Feel free to leave!!! 

-Author Unknown- 

My cats and dog are members of my family.  They sit on the furniture, they sleep on the beds.  I even go one further.  The cats eat on the counter so the dog can’t bother them, they sleep on top of the fridge, lounge on the dining room table and I couldn’t care less.  If that to you means you don’t want to come to dinner then…  Well suit yourself.  HOWEVER there are things that were invented waaaay back in dark ages.  Have you ever heard of Mr. Clean?  I use it to clean the counters and the table.  So if I am gonna clean the surfaces what does it matter that they walk on them?  After watching Confessions; of an Animal Hoarder I was angered to no end that one of the participants family had more of an issue with the fact that she allowed her cats to be on the dining room table than they did with the fact that she had 65 cats, three of which were pregnant because none of them were spayed or neutered.  They were more offended with the fact that there was a cat hair on their dinner plate than they were with the fact that she was in debt trying to take care of these cats.  They were more upset with the cats licking the walls than they were with the fact that she could not keep up with cleaning the litter out. 

What is the matter with people?  Why are we so rigid in our attitudes that pets belong in “their place” and that place can’t be where humans eat, sleep or drink.  Come on.  If you really think about it our pets, cat especially spend 99% of their lives in our homes.  Where are they going to catch anything that will be so harmful to us that the pads of their feet touching out counter tops will infect and harm us?  REALLY!!  Think about it. 

Zoonotic diseases in cats and dogs.  Have a look at this website and see it ain’t really all that easy to pick up stuff from your pets.  Especially if you are a clean person. 

Society and THE MEDIA, have made people scared.  A few weeks ago it was “don’t kiss your dogs you will get strep…”  “Don’t let your dog sleep with you or you will get….  Who knows?”  What I want to know is where is my dog gonna get Strep from in the first place in order to give it to me…..?  When the only place he goes is with me and I watch him all the time…..?  It happens once and or the research shows a positive correlation (small mind you) and they start spouting it off as the “gospel truth…”  Please people don’t blindly believe everything you hear on The Doctors.  Use your own common sense!

I know I still owe you a fifth woman that inspires me.  I am still trying to get to it.  I can’t decide whether I want it to be Gail Vaz Oxlade my hero money guru…  Or Bethenny Frankle whom I love to no end.  So I will leave you with a clip from Bethenny’s new show…  Bethenny Getting Married? 

Have a great week-end and Happy Valentines’ Day love who you love with all of your heart!

Leave a comment

Filed under Angel Animals Network, Animal abuse, Animal Communication, Animal Planet, Animal Rights, Animals, Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, Bethenny, Bethenny Frankle, Bethenny Getting Married, bird flu, bird flue, Gail Vaz Oxlade, Mr. Clean, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

